PIANO & ELEKTRO

rand

new urban sensitive music for piano and electronics

Jan Gerdes - piano, composition
Dr.Nojoke - electronics, composition

rand is a crossover project at the intersection of classical and electronic music with links to minimal, romantic and contemporary music, Jazz, Ambient, Industrial, Glitch and Clicks

The Berlin based concert pianist Jan Gerdes and the Berlin electronic artist and techno producer Frank Bogdanowitz alias Dr.Nojoke met in autumn 2017 to discuss their different musical spheres. First musical experiments led to the decision to start a collaborative creative project.

Both artists share a fascination for the acoustic and performative blending of individualized, poetic and lyrical piano sound with the epic, orchestral and bizarre soundscapes of electronic music. Within the tension of analogue and digital sounds the artists create fantastic atmospheres and sound scenarios where lonely piano lines meet drone sound walls and repetitive piano patterns exist alongside crystalline electronic impulses.

Gerdes and Bogdanowitz alias rand are interested in the musical balance of romantic piano motifs and rhythmic pulsations as well as contemporary experimental sound structures and their dissociative sounds. Dynamic transitions from fragile acoustic moments to denser, perhaps even monstrous electroacoustic textures prevail here. The process of these transformations reveals the liveliness, the creativity and the magic of their music.

The music of rand describes the state of the fragile individual with his need for shelter and emotionality in an alienated world increasingly shaped by digital technology and urban cold. These fractures and distortions reveal threatening and abysmal scenarios as well as spaces of manifold beauty, poetry and silence.

Link to Facebook:  rand auf facebook

rand - video trailer 2019

rand - lucid

Jan Gerdes auf Soundcloud

rand - I EP (Kopie)

Disabled Seconds | Voodoo River | Tragically Hip

Click here to load the sound!

Jan Gerdes auf Soundcloud

rand - II (Kopie)

Lucid | Smouldering | San Gimignano

Click here to load the sound!

PIANO & ELEKTRO

rand

new urban sensitive music for piano and electronics

Jan Gerdes - piano, composition
Dr.Nojoke - electronics, composition

rand ist ein Crossover Projekt an der Schnittstelle von klassischer und elektronischer Musik mit Bezügen zu Minimal Music, Romantik, Neuer Musik, Jazz, Ambient, Industrial, Glitch und Clicks

Der Berliner Konzertpianist Jan Gerdes und der Berliner Elektronikkünstler und Technoproduzent Frank Bogdanowitz alias Dr.Nojoke trafen sich im Herbst 2017, um über ihre unterschiedlichen musikalischen Welten zu diskutieren. Erste musikalische Experimente führten zu dem Entschluss, ein gemeinsames künstlerisches Projekt zu starten.

Beiden Künstlern gemein ist die Faszination für die akustische und performative Verschränkung des individualisierten, poetischen und lyrischen Klavierklangs mit den überwältigenden, orchestralen und bizarren Klanglandschaften elektronischer Musik. In diesem Spannungsfeld analoger und digitaler Sounds treffen einsame Klavierlinien auf bedrohliche `dronige` Klangwände, repetitive Klavierpatterns bestehen neben kristallinen elektronischen Impulsen und lassen phantastische Atmosphären und Klangszenarien entstehen.

Dabei geht es beiden Künstlern von rand um die musikalische Balance von romantischen Klaviermotiven und rhythmischen Pulsationen sowie zeitgenössisch-experimentellen Klanggebilden und deren dissoziativer Klänge. Momente der Transformation und des Übergangs von fragilen akustischen Momenten zu dichteren oder sogar monströsen elektroakustischen Texturen und deren Prozesse der Verwandlung des musikalischen Materials durch Verdichtung und Auflösung bringen die Lebendigkeit, Kreativität und Magie ihrer Musik zum Vorschein.

Die Musik von rand beschreibt den Zustand des zerbrechlichen Individuums mit seinem Bedürfnis nach Emotionalität und Geborgenheit in einer zunehmend durch digitale Technologie und urbane Kälte geprägten, entfremdeten Welt. Diese Brüche und Verwerfungen schaffen bedrohliche und abgründige Szenarien, offenbaren aber auch Räume mannigfaltiger Schönheit, Poesie und Stille.

rand auf facebook

rand - video trailer 2019

rand - lucid

Jan Gerdes auf Soundcloud

rand - I EP

Disabled Seconds | Voodoo River | Tragically Hip

Click here to load the sound!

Jan Gerdes auf Soundcloud

rand - II

Lucid | Smouldering | San Gimignano

Click here to load the sound!